Adivasis families live in conditions of extreme poverty and over-indebtedness.

Self-help groups for women and mothers are community savings programs promoting internal loans.

Women are trained and supported by our social workers, especially for setting up income-generating activities (e.g. raising small livestock, village grocery, tailoring shop) and for their demands to the government. After one year of participation in these self-help groups, the CIAO KIDS Foundation gives them, under certain conditions, a matching grant doubling their savings.

These meetings are also a platform for raising awareness and exchanging on themes such as health, hygiene, agriculture or the education of children. The opportunity also to follow a training in tailoring, literacy, agriculture, etc.

Our objective is to make these women financially independent, to give them confidence in themselves and in their capacities, to help them take control of their lives and build their future. The ultimate goal is to bring a successful economic effect and social change that benefits the entire community.

Top

Les familles Adivasis vivent dans des conditions de pauvreté extrême et de surendettement.

Les groupes d’auto-gestion (ou self-help groups) pour les femmes et les mères de famille sont des programmes d’épargne communautaire favorisant les prêts internes.

Les femmes sont formées et soutenues par nos travailleurs sociaux notamment pour la mise sur pied d’activités génératrices de revenus (ex: élevage de petit bétail, épicerie de village, atelier de couture) et pour leurs revendications au gouvernement. Après un an de participation à ces groupes d’auto-gestion, la Fondation CIAO KIDS leur verse, sous certaines conditions, une subvention d’encouragement d’un montant équivalent à leurs économies.

Ces rencontres sont aussi une plate-forme de sensibilisation et d’échange sur des thèmes comme la santé, l’hygiène, l’agriculture ou l’éducation des enfants. L’occasion également de suivre une formation en couture, alphabétisation, agriculture, etc.

Notre objectif est de rendre ces femmes financièrement autonomes, de leur donner confiance en elles et en leurs capacités, de les aider à prendre en main leur vie et construire leur futur. Le but ultime est de réussir à opérer un changement d’ordre économique et social qui bénéficie à la communauté toute entière.

Top